C Mantz Running Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 20 Jan 2019 18:58:35 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Jan 19, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-19-2019.html <p>AM-18 miles with the team. Last ten were just Clayton and I. Lots of talking about running and life in general.</p> Sat, 19 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 18, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-18-2019.html <p>AM-4 easy miles then weights.</p> <p>PM-11 miles with strides.</p> Fri, 18 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 17, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-17-2019.html <p>AM-5 miles with a Talem and Josh.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-crazy day. Really cold and wet 8x1000m at intramural field. I might write more about it later, but it was a hard workout with the rain and wind, and after things were a bit scary for a guy on the team.</p> Thu, 17 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 16, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-16-2019.html <p>AM-9 easy miles with Michael and Josh. Very rainy and lots of slush.</p> <p>PM-9, most on treadmill, strides after&nbsp;</p> Wed, 16 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 15, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-15-2019.html <p>AM-4.2 miles with Talem and Aidan Carlson</p> <p>PM-4xmile with equal recovery.&nbsp; We were told to start at 4:30ish.&nbsp; First one was in 4:31, next one I led and went a bit quick, so we ran 4:25. Next one Jared and Rory led and we went 4:25.&nbsp; Final one Rory led and we went 4:23.&nbsp; Felt hard, but this was better than my 4xmile last year during indoors, and possibly better than the ones I ran outdoors.&nbsp; Good workout though, I was hurting more than I had in a while during a workout, but about the time I started to struggle we had 600m left, so I just held on.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 14, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-14-2019.html <p>AM-4.2 miles&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-13 miles, last 7 with Clayton, then a mile on the track with strides.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 12, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-12-2019.html <p>Update: I got DQ&#39;ed, hearing that I repeatedly stepped on the line on multiple laps.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>2 mile shakeout at 7:30, 2 mile warm up before the race.&nbsp; A few days ago coach and I discussed the pros and cons about racing, and decided to just train through the race and try and get a time around 8:10-8:12.&nbsp; I felt a bit nervous, just no pop in my legs beforehand.&nbsp; We started about 15 minutes later than planned due to a few errors with runnercard.&nbsp; The race went out quick, with Rory pacing, Clayton right behind him, then McMillan, and then myself.&nbsp; &nbsp;I just stayed behind McMillan until right before the mile and passed him and got behind Clayton.&nbsp; After Rory dropped off, I took the lead for about a lap and a half.&nbsp; Then, I heard that we were going a bit underpace, and even though I didn&#39;t feel fatigued, I didn&#39;t feel like I had the speed to go faster, so I cut out to lane two, let Clayton pass, and then just ran right behind him the rest of the race.&nbsp; He came through at 8:10, I was 8:11, and McMillan in 8:15.&nbsp; I was pretty pumped to run that time, because it felt really relaxed comparitively, and I had a great workout week, so that was good.&nbsp; 10 mile cool down after, then dinner with my family.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Sat, 12 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 11, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-11-2019.html <p>AM-4.2 easy miles alone.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-8 miles with strides.</p> Fri, 11 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 10, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-10-2019.html <p>AM-4.2 mile loop.&nbsp; Big group for our morning run crew.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-11 miles.&nbsp; Clayson ran the workout today that I ran yesterday and was a second faster on the 5 mile tempo, which makes me feel a better about going as fast as I did.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Thu, 10 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 09, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-09-2019.html <p>AM-4.2 mile loop.</p> <p>PM-5 mile tempo with 4x60 second pickups after. Tempo was a bit interesting. The goal was just under 5:00, but I kinda got ahead and didn&rsquo;t have a gps watch, so after being a bit slow at the half mile mark, I sped it up and was just all over the place with pace. 4:56, 4:45, 4:56(tried to slow things down here), 4:48, 4:50. I probably should&rsquo;ve gone slower, but eh, oh well. The minute pickups after felt pretty good.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 08, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-08-2019.html <p>AM-6.25 easy miles alone.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-13 miles for the medium long run with strides.</p> Tue, 08 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Jan 07, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-07-2019.html <p>AM-4.2 mike loop. Pretty snowy and icy, but a nice run.</p> <p>PM-3x(mile, 800, 400). Not a very hard workout. Miles at tempo, 800 were 3k-5k pace, 400s at mile pace.&nbsp;Miles were 4:50, 4:50, 4:47. 800s were 2:09, 2:11, 2:08. 400s were 59, 59, 57. I really like this workout, and it was a good one for the first day of school.</p> Mon, 07 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Jan 05, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-05-2019.html <p>Long run up the canyon and around Smithfield and Hyde Park. Felt terrible. Tried to do a pickup, but was pretty beat and wasn&rsquo;t sure if I&rsquo;d finish the run if I did the pickup. Last 8 miles felt like they were never going to end, I may have overdone it with mileage the past few weeks.</p> Sat, 05 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Jan 04, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-04-2019.html <p>AM-12 miles, ran up Smithfield canyon a bit past the campgrounds and back. It was cold.</p> <p>PM-5 easy miles up the canyon.</p> Fri, 04 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Jan 03, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-03-2019.html <p>AM-8x800. Wasn&rsquo;t sure how it was going to go being the first workout with the team on the track. Connor McMillan led the first two, and then we switched off the lead on every other. We averaged either 2:09 or 2:10 and it felt like a pretty easy workout.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-6 miles on a treadmill.&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Jan 02, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-02-2019.html <p>AM-10 miles with James, JD, and Alex.</p> <p>PM-5 easy miles with Clayson</p> Wed, 02 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Jan 01, 2019 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-01-01-2019.html <p>AM- 10, 5, 3, 2, 1 fartlek with Garrett Barton in Ogden. It was tough! It seemed like almost all the fast stuff was uphill.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-4.2 miles to bring me to 15. Felt really tired, which is surprising because I got 9 hours of sleep last night from 10 PM to 7 AM.</p> Tue, 01 Jan 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 31, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-31-2018.html <p>AM-13 easy miles, first five were with Landen Chugg, a high school teammate.</p> <p>PM-5 easy miles. A few strides thrown in on the morning run and two for the afternoon.</p> Mon, 31 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 29, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-29-2018.html <p>AM-18.3 miles. 3 mile pickup in 5:02, 5:07, and 4:51. The pickup may or may not have been a bit downhill.</p> Sat, 29 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 28, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-28-2018.html <p>AM-11.5 easy miles on my own.</p> <p>PM-5 easy miles</p> Fri, 28 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 27, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-27-2018.html <p>AM-10.25 miles with Garnica and JD.</p> <p>PM-5 easy miles on my own.</p> Thu, 27 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 26, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-26-2018.html <p>AM-Met up with Brandon Garnica in Logan to workout, but couldn&rsquo;t find an indoor facility open. It was 26 degrees, but it said with humidity and windchill it said it felt like&nbsp;16, so we were bundled in up. Warmed up 3 miles, then did 4xmile with 5 min jog recovery in between. &nbsp;First mile was slightly&nbsp;uphill in 4:45, next three were downhill in 4:37, 4:27, and 4:23. The weather got significantly better as we got going and I felt a lot better after each one; honestly the 4:45 gave me doubts, but at least having someone else to struggle with helps you stay motivated to finish the workout.</p> <p>PM-5 easy miles up the canyon.</p> Wed, 26 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Dec 25, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-25-2018.html <p>AM-10 miles near snow basin while the rest of the family was skiing.</p> <p>PM-7.1 miles. Merry Christmas!</p> Tue, 25 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Dec 24, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-24-2018.html <p>AM-11.1 miles with JD around Logan.&nbsp; It was pretty slick and snowy, but not too bad.&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-6 miles up the canyon, and then a bit around the neighborhood to get my strides in. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 24 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Dec 22, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-22-2018.html <p>AM-Long run with James Withers, JD. Thorne, and Ethan.&nbsp; We ran from Hyde Park to Smithfield Canyon to North Logan, and back before I did my three mile pickup.&nbsp; Went 5:15, 5:14, 4:59 trying to find the raods that were the least icy.&nbsp; I ended up about a mile and a half from my car, so I extended the long run a bit.</p> Sat, 22 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Dec 21, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-21-2018.html <p>AM-11 miles up Smithfield canyon with a Ethan field at 6:20 pace.</p> <p>PM-4 easy miles at 9PM. &nbsp; Later than I wanted, but it felt good. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 21 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Dec 20, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-20-2018.html <p>AM-10.2 miles with Michael and Jake.&nbsp; Michael and I realized that we&#39;ve ran 55 miles so far this week together.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>PM-4 miles of grass loops.</p> Thu, 20 Dec 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Dec 19, 2018 http://conner.fastrunningblog.com/blog-12-19-2018.html <p>AM-3x2 mile avg at 9:50.</p> <p>PM-5 miles of grass loops with Michael.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 19 Dec 2018 07:00:00